Just another food snob site

The Great Pumpkin (Ale). . . Where Art Thou?

So, sorry it’s been forever since my last post.  School has started and so has coaching and my time is at a premium.  Things will be a little sparse until football is over in November.  I will try to get some small posts in, but they will not be coming in on a regular basis.  For today’s post, I won’t be giving you a recipe, but a question: Where have all the good pumpkin ales gone?  I’ve tried a few and they are all, well, unsatisfactory. I’ve tried a few, but they all leave me . . . wanting.  Some, like Busch’s Jacks Pumpkin Spice Ale tastes like beer soaked pumpkin pie.   Sweet beer (like sweet wine) is not good.  Some, like Sam Adams Harvest Pumpkin Ale tastes too much like their Boston Ale.  The Blue Moon has a nice nice orange color, but tastes like any other ale.  Someone please help me!

One response

  1. Becky

    You should check out the Ichabod Pumpkin Ale from New Holland Brewery. I’m new to trying the pumpkin beers, so maybe it’s not the best, but I thought it was pretty good. Not just spiced, but also pumpkin-y, but not overpowering. Not sure how it is in bottles though – I had it on tap.

    October 7, 2010 at 7:06 pm

Leave a Reply

